Author Archives: Lawrence Zalasky

About Lawrence Zalasky

I was born and schooled in Two Hill, Ab. Upon graduation I moved to Edmonton, got involved in finance and followed that path for 10 years. In 1973 I formed a partnership in a very successful mortgage firm that culminated in our getting a "Trust Company" entitled Colonial Trust. In 1984 we sold the Trust Company and it is today known as Peoples Trust. Marge and I married in 1968 after a 5 year courtship, moved to Sherwood Park where we still reside, have 3 lovely married daughters, 3 great sons-in-law and 10 grandchildren. After semi retiring in 2004 I joined the Sherwood Park Gyro Club. I co-chaired the District VIII Convention in Sherwood Park in 2010, served as a director in 2011, then Vice President in 2012 and became the club President for the 2013-14 term. Gyro is relaxing, exciting and rewarding. Gyro shares a value that the world strives for on a daily basis. That value is one of "Equality". To Gyros "Equality has no boundaries". To Gyros ethnicity, religious educational or work background is never an issue. To a Gyro there is no "back seat" on the bus. For this I am richer and proud of my Gyro friends and friendships.

2014 Elections

May 2014 Election Bulletin I cannot believe that the Gyro year is close to coming to the break for summer. With this in mind it also means, among other activities, that the club elections are right around the corner. The … Continue reading

Posted in President's Christmas Banquet | Comments Off on 2014 Elections

November update on the Health & welfare of our Club.

Barrie Pratt has knee problems and is now walking with the aid of a cane. More seriously though he has a pain which he first thought was a heart attack. That was discounted but the pain is still there in … Continue reading

Posted in Health and Welfare | 1 Comment

2014 President’s Christmas Address

By Lawrence Zalasky President December 15, 2013 The Gyro Club of Sherwood Park was chartered on October 4, 1975 when 30 members were inducted. Today we are privileged to still have Augie Annacchiarico, Terry Bajer, Rikke Dootjes, Barrie Pratt, Ed … Continue reading

Posted in President Messages | 2 Comments